Slide 1

Treatment of acute lymphoblastic leukemia

Acute lymphoblastic leukemia (referred to as “ALL”) is the most frequent type of blood cancer found in children and teenagers. The disease originates in the bone marrow, where normal blood formation is disrupted by an uncontrolled proliferation of immature blood cells. These immature cells, called leukemia cells, supress the healthy blood cells preventing them from performing their vital functions. Without therapy, ALL leads to severe disease and organ dysfunction with a fatal outcome.

The majority of ALL patients can be successfully handled with the current standard treatment. However, in 15-20%, despite successful initial treatment, the leukemia comes back, worsening the prognosis and requiring further therapy. There are various types of relapses, which differ in prognosis. High-risk patients are children and teenagers who have a particularly aggressive relapse with a very poor prognosis. This is where the international “IntReALL” HR 2010 study comes in.

The main goal of this study is to optimize treatment in such a way as to increase the chances of recovery for the children affected and to reduce therapy-related late side effects. This should be achieved with different approaches, such as adjusting medication doses; use of new medications, which are adjusted to meet individual risk; and additional therapy or modifications of therapy periods.

The Swiss Pediatric Oncology Group, SPOG, Bern, is responsible for conducting the study in Switzerland.

The study has a duration of 2 years (2019-2020).

Slide 1

Behandlung von akuter lymphoblastischer Leukämie

Die akute lymphoblastische Leukämie, oder kurz ALL, ist die häufigste Art von Blutkrebs bei Kindern und Jugendlichen. Die Erkrankung entsteht im Knochenmark, wo die normale Blutbildung durch eine unkontrollierte Vermehrung von unreifen Blutzellen gestört wird. Diese unreifen Zellen, Leukämiezellen genannt, verdrängen die gesunden Blutzellen, wodurch diese ihre lebenswichtigen Funktionen nicht mehr wahrnehmen können. Ohne Therapie führt eine ALL zu schwerer Erkrankung und Organstörungen mit tödlichem Verlauf.

Mit der derzeitigen Standardbehandlung kann bereits ein Grossteil der ALL Patient/-innen erfolgreich behandelt werden. Bei 15-20% kommt die Leukämie jedoch trotz erfolgreicher Erstbehandlung wieder zurück, wodurch sich die Prognose verschlechtert und eine weitere Therapie notwendig ist. Es gibt verschiedene Arten von Rückfällen, die sich in der Prognose unterscheiden. Hochrisikopatient/-innen sind Kinder und Jugendliche, die einen besonders aggressiven Rückfall mit sehr schlechter Prognose haben. Hier setzt die internationale Studie IntReALL HR 2010 an.

Das Hauptziel dieser Studie ist es, die Behandlung so zu optimieren, die Heilungschancen der betroffenen Kinder zu erhöhen und Therapie-bedingte Spätfolgen zu verringern. Dies soll mit verschiedenen Ansätzen erreicht werden, wie zum Beispiel durch angepasste Medikamentendosis, Einsatz neuer Medikamente, dem individuellen Risiko angepasste zusätzliche Therapien oder geänderte Therapiezeiträume.

Verantwortlich für die Durchführung der Studie in der Schweiz ist die Schweizerische Pädiatrische Onkologie Gruppe SPOG, Bern.

Die Studie hat eine Laufzeit von 2 Jahren (2019-2020).