Slide 1

Treatment of acute lymphoblastic leukemia

Acute lymphoblastic leukemia (referred to as “ALL”) is the most frequent type of blood cancer found in children and teenagers. The disease originates in the bone marrow, where normal blood formation is disrupted by an uncontrolled proliferation of immature blood cells. These immature cells, called leukemia cells, supress the healthy blood cells preventing them from performing their vital functions. Without therapy, ALL leads to severe disease and organ dysfunction with a fatal outcome.

The majority of ALL patients can be successfully handled with the current standard treatment. However, in 15-20%, despite successful initial treatment, the leukemia comes back, worsening the prognosis and requiring further therapy. There are various types of relapses, which differ in prognosis. High-risk patients are children and teenagers who have a particularly aggressive relapse with a very poor prognosis. This is where the international “IntReALL” HR 2010 study comes in.

The main goal of this study is to optimize treatment in such a way as to increase the chances of recovery for the children affected and to reduce therapy-related late side effects. This should be achieved with different approaches, such as adjusting medication doses; use of new medications, which are adjusted to meet individual risk; and additional therapy or modifications of therapy periods.

The Swiss Pediatric Oncology Group, SPOG, Bern, is responsible for conducting the study in Switzerland.

The study has a duration of 2 years (2019-2020).

Slide 1

Traitement de la leucémie lymphoblastique aiguë (LLA)

La leucémie lymphoblastique aiguë, ou plus simplement LLA, est la forme la plus courante de cancer du sang chez les enfants et adolescents. La maladie se développe dans la moelle osseuse, où la formation normale du sang est perturbée par une multiplication incontrôlée de cellules sanguines immatures. Ces cellules sanguines, appelées cellules leucémiques, évincent les cellules sanguines saines, ce qui explique que celles-ci ne puissent plus assurer leurs fonctions vitales. Sans thérapie, une LLA conduit à une affection grave et à des troubles organiques, avec une évolution fatale.

Avec le traitement standard mis en œuvre à l’heure actuelle, une grande partie des patient-e-s LLA peuvent d’ores et déjà être soignés avec succès. Chez 15-20% d’entre eux, cependant, la leucémie réapparait en dépit d’un premier traitement réussi, le pronostic s’aggrave alors, nécessitant une nouvelle thérapie. Il existe diverses formes de rechutes, avec des pronostics divers. Les patient-e-s à haut risque sont des enfants et adolescents qui connaissent une rechute particulièrement agressive, avec un pronostic très négatif. C’est ici qu’intervient l’étude internationale IntReALL HR 2010.

Le principal objectif de cette étude est d’optimiser le traitement de manière à accroître les chances de guérison des enfants et d’obtenir une diminution des risques tardifs associés à la thérapie. Diverses approches sont envisagées, comme par exemple une adaptation du dosage médicamenteux, l’introduction de nouveaux médicaments, des thérapies complémentaires adaptées au risque individuel ou des modifications dans le rythme des thérapies.

La réalisation de cette étude en Suisse est placée sous la responsabilité du Groupe d’Oncologie pédiatrique Suisse SPOG de Berne.

Cette étude doit durer 2 ans (2019-2020).